Tag Archives: Black Metal

Burzum – From the Depths of Darkness (2011)


1. The Coming (Introduction)
2. Feeble Screams From Forests Unknown
3. Sassu Wunnu (Introduction)
4. Ea, Lord of the Depths
5. Spell of Destruction
6. A Lost Forgotten Sad Spirit
7. My Journey to the Stars
8. Call of the Siren (Introduction)
9. Key to the Gate
10. Turn the Sign of the Microcosm (Snu Mikrokosmos’ Tegn)
11. Channeling the Power of Minds into a new God

No need to introduce Burzum, so let’s get straight to my thoughts about ‘From the Depths of Darkness’, a compilation of re-recordings of some older stuff from ‘Burzum’ and ‘Det Som Engang Var’. This release had quite an impact on me because I hadn’t cherished Varg’s solo outputs that much as yet (apart from ‘Hvis Lyset Tvar Oss’). However, after listening to his newest effort it kinda struck me that this man has some huge talent as a musician. I didn’t remember that his older releases were that entertaining and atmospheric at the same time. Comparing the re-recordings to the original tracks it’s rather easy to say that the rawness (especially of the vocals) of the original versions makes them a lot better than the new ones with their more clean, at some parts even ridiculously happy (‘My Journey to the Stars’) sound. But ‘From the Depths of Darkness’ is no bad release at all. I admit, for ingrained Burzum fans it could be a (huge?) disappointment. On the contrary, ‘I-don’t-really-have-a-clue-about-Burzum-but-I’m-talking-about-it-nonetheless’-people as me gain the oppurtunity to fully discover Varg’s musical potential.

Norway, 2011
Black Metal



Cara Neir – Stagnant Perceptions (2011)


1. Imperialist Design
2. Return to Torquemada
3. Two-Faced and Tight-Lipped
4. Dethroned and Leprous
5. The Bridge of Despise
6. Amaranthine Figures
7. Temporal Realm
8. The Apothecary
9. Limitless Drift
10. My Apology
11. Not Enough

I stumbled upon ‘Cara Neir’ rather by accident than on purpose through another blog (Unfortunately, I can’t remember its name). The short review appealed to me and because the album can be downloaded for free(!!) I just couldn’t say no. You can expect a 40-minute rollercoaster ride between black metal, crust and sludge without a grain of boredom. ‘Stagnant Perception’ is a supremely entertaining album that reveals further details after each listen. And as I already mentioned: for free!

USA, 2011
Black Metal, Crust, Sludge
Website || Download


Wolvhammer – The Obsidian Plains (2011)


1. The Gleaming
2. Writhe
3. Bones of the Pious
4. Ghosts in the Water
5. Shadowhorn
6. A Defiled Aesthetic
7. The Sentinels

I didn’t know much about Wolvhammer when I listened to this album the first time. If I remember correctly I had caught a glimpse on their debut ‘Black Marketeers of World War III’ but I couldn’t quite recall the sound of it. So I went onto this release completely unbiased. And hell, was I blown away. Wolvhammer combines fierce black metal with the rather chaotic elements of crust with some very sludge-y interludes. It’s an incredibly intense mixture that enthralls me throughout the whole album. Especially ‘Writhe’ and ‘The Sentinels’ stand out on this release. The former because of its frenetic abrasiveness and gloom, the latter due to its very emotional climax (what an epic ending riff!). Overall, I don’t think that Wolvhammer could have done this in any better way.

USA, 2011
Black Metal, Sludge, Crust